Pedal Power booklet

I’d like to share a very special project that I had the opportunity and pleasure to be involved with last few months.

Juliana’s Bike is a series of events and workshops celebrating art and cycling, here in Leeds. It’s organised by  East Street Arts and forms part of Bike Fest.

As part of Juliana’s Bike I was commissioned to document 2 consecutive workshops of an Inclusive Youth Dance Company – Me2. During those workshops, supported by Janice Keith, they set out to invent creative dance work around the theme of cycling.

This was very interesting and exciting as I haven’t worked with youth before. I wanted to produce a series of illustrations of the dancers but I thought it would be great to put them in a form of a booklet along with the information about the event and the dancers to give more of an insight into the context of the project. I aimed to capture the creative process of developing a dance piece so we made sure we recorded the ideas that came out of group discussions down on paper in a form of a Mind Map. I then illustrated the stages of the process and did at least one illustration for each of the dancers. I used tablet to draw it out.

If you’d like to learn more about Me2 and MeshDance please visit their facebook page or website 

After the workshops I was kindly invited to a sharing of the work mid July. I really enjoyed it. The group worked really hard and put together a great performance full of positive energy and love for dance.

Frontcover

the Front Cover with a vintage bike pattern

Lauren writing down

writing down ideas on a Mind Map

Image

having group discussions

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

George

About

